On April 29, 2009, the Haw River Valley was recognized as an American Viticultural Area (AVA) by the Department of Treasury and the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB). This Treasury decision establishes the 868-square mile Haw River Valley viticultural area, which includes all of Alamance County, and portions of Caswell, Chatham, Guilford, Orange and Rockingham Counties in North Carolina.

The Federal Alcohol Administration Act authorizes the Secretary of the Treasury to prescribe regulations and establish definitive viticultural areas for the use of their names as appellations of origin on wine labels and in wine advertisements. The TTB designates viticultural areas to allow vintners to better describe the origin of their wines and to allow consumers to better identify wines they may purchase.

TTB defines a viticultural area for American wine as a delimited grape-growing region distinguishable by geographical features. The information used to establish the Haw River Valley viticultural area included its geology, soils, elevation and climate. Its inland location, between the Atlantic Ocean and the Appalachian Mountains and its complex geological history combine to create a unique viticultural region. The Haw River watershed, which comprises 98 percent of the viticultural area, was used to determine the boundaries.


Read the Official Docket from the TTB:



Read More About AVA Here:



trail map
plan your trip
events and media
a v a